Monday, April 28, 2008

PLAI-NCR Conference on July 23-25, 2008

Dear Sir/Madam:

The Philippine Librarians Association, Inc. and its National Capital Region Librarians Council (PLAI-NCR) in cooperation with the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions – Committee on Free Access to Information and Freedom of Expression (IFLA-FAIFE) cordially invite you to attend the Conference on "INFORMATION ACCESS: INTERNET AND LIBRARIES" to be held at the City Garden Suites located at 1158 A. Mabini Street, Ermita, Manila, Philippines on July 23-25, 2008.

The Conference aims to: update participants on IFLA activities and plans; discuss the provisions of the Internet Manifesto and the strategies on how to implement; identify barriers to the flow of information and ways of overcoming; and underscore the role of libraries in promoting free access to information and freedom of expression through the Internet.

Toward these ends, we have lined up interesting topics to be discussed by foreign and local experts in the field, including concerned IFLA-Committee on Free Access to Information and Freedom of Expression (FAIFE) officials, namely, Prof. Paul Sturges, Chair, Dr. Barbara M. Jones, Secretary, and Ms. Loida Garcia-Febo, Member. Other invited speakers are Hon. Adel A. Tamano, President, Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila, and Prof. Antonio M. Santos, Law Librarian and Professorial Lecturer, U.P. College of Law and School of Library and Information Studies.

Conference fee is P3,700.00 to cover snacks, lunches, conference kit and papers, and certificates. Payments may be made in cash or check payable to PLAI-NCR. Interested parties are requested to contact the following for reservations:

Lily Echiverri, lily.echiverri@gmail.com, 9292180; 92055145 loc. 301;
Jo Ladlad, ladladj@dlsu.edu.ph, 5244611-21 loc. 602/265;
Fe Abelardo, feabelardo@yahoo.com, 5250926;
Belen Vibar, belen@uap.edu.ph, 6370912 to 26 loc. 229;
Tess Hernandez, tghernandez@ceu.edu.ph, 7359406;
Nora Claravall, nora04claravall@yahoo.com, 09278417048.

Thank you.

Very truly yours,


Sgd.) LILIA F. ECHIVERRI
Vice-Chairperson, NCRLC
Chair, Conference Committee

Noted :

SUSIMA L. GONZALES
President, PLAI

BELEN M. VIBAR
Chairperson, NCRLC

No comments: